As the number of COVID-19 cases rose in Mindanao, Region X has decided to shut down its borders.

On Sunday, positive cases in Northern Mindanao rose to 14 prompting them to practice precautionary measures. Northern Mindanao Task Force for the pandemic said in a statement that they will close their borders to travelers under General Community Quarantine (GCQ) conditions.

Like other provinces and cities, they would only allow cargo trucks and vehicles bringing basic goods to enter and leave their region.

This measure took effect on May 1 and will last until May 15, 2020.

“The two-week closure of regional borders (will) give the region ample time to further strengthen its fight against COVID-19,” the statement said.

Northern Mindanao is comprised of the provinces of:

  • Bukidnon
  • Camiguin
  • Misamis Oriental
  • Misamis Occidental
  • Lanao del Norte

Including the nine cities of:

  • Cagayan de Oro
  • Iligan
  • Malaybalay
  • Ozamis
  • Tangub
  • Gingoog
  • Oroquieta
  • El Salvador
  • Valencia

Northern Mindanao shares borders with:

  • Caraga
  • Davao Region
  • Soccsksargen
  • Bangsamoro
  • Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao
  • Zamboanga Peninsula

Looking for a place to stay in this island? Click here to get the best room deals.

Related Posts

Comments are closed.